Supervisor ARGOTSINGER offered the following Resolution and moved its adoption:


WHEREAS, Resolution 49 of 2001 formally established a Municipal Demolition Team, with basic operating guidelines identified in the "Municipal Demolition Team Proposal", dated February 12, 2001; and

WHEREAS, Resolution 400 of 2004 authorized an inter-municipal agreement with the City of Gloversville for the County to assume property tax collection and enforcement responsibilities for the City of Gloversville; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors has established “Operation Green Scene” to demolish dilapidated residential properties and foster community rehabilitation in the community; and

WHEREAS, the County has established a list of demolition projects on certain County-owned tax foreclosure properties in the City of Gloversville; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Solid Waste Director is hereby authorized to mobilize the County Demolition Team to raze any structures and clean up the following County-owned parcels in the City of Gloversville:

Tax Map # Address Former Owner
SBL#134.18-8-18.2 10 Union Street Darrin & Marie Newkirk
SBL#134.18-1-12 134 North Street Carole Madden
SBL#149.6-19-21 87 Forest Street Enrique Sewer
SBL#149.17-5-15 424 S. Main Street Christopher & Rhonda Brown
SBL#134.18-1-3 25 Kent Street Jack L. Lair & Theodore A. Frank

and, be it further

RESOLVED, That said projects shall be completed in the most efficient and cost-effective manner possible, in accordance with the Municipal Demolition Team Proposal approved by the Board of Supervisors on February 12, 2001; and, be it further 

RESOLVED, That the Solid Waste Director do each and every other thing necessary to further the purport of this Resolution; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That certified copies of this Resolution be forwarded to the County Treasurer, Solid Waste Director, City of Gloversville, Budget Director/County Auditor and Administrative Officer/ Clerk of the Board.

Seconded by Supervisor GREENE and adopted by the following vote:
TOTAL: Ayes: 17 Nays: 0 Absent: 3 (Supervisors Callery, Rice and Waldron)

Back to Proceedings