Supervisor ARGOTSINGER offered the following Resolution and moved its adoption:


WHEREAS, Governor Cuomo and the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles has announced plans to require new license plates that will force millions of motorists to pay a $25.00 per plate fee and another $20.00 if they want to keep their current plate number; and

WHEREAS, an analysis by Senator James Tedisco, indicates that the license plates cost $2.3 million per year and project that the state will reap more than a $70 million dollar revenue windfall from the $25.00 per plate fee; and

WHEREAS, according to Part H of NYS Budget Bill A.159B of 2009, the State can charge up to $25.00 for a license plate, but is not required to levy such a fee, and over the past decade has not imposed that cost; and

WHEREAS, the current license plates are satisfactory for cashless tolling and red light cameras according to the Thruway Authority and law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, nowhere in the law does it state that license plate design replacement is mandatory, and while some plates may be peeling or fading, motorists should not be forced to pay additional fees because of the inferior product that the state purchased; and

WHEREAS, Senator James Tedisco, Assemblyman Robert Smullen and many County Clerks, including Fulton County Clerk Linda Kollar, and many consumer groups have spoken out in opposition to the Governor’s License Plate Fee proposal; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors, hereby expresses its strong opposition to the Governor’s License Plate Tax hike proposal and urges him to reverse his plan to charge millions of motorists $25.00 for new plates and $20.00 to keep their current plate numbers; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That certified copies of this Resolution be forwarded to the County Treasurer, Governor Andrew Cuomo, Senator James Tedisco, Assemblyman Robert Smullen, County Clerk, All Counties, New York State Association of Counties, Commissioner of NYS DMV, and Administrative Officer/Clerk of the Board.


Seconded by Supervisor POTTER and adopted by the following vote:
TOTAL:  Ayes: 19   Nays: 0   Absent: 1 (Supervisor Waldron)

Back to Proceedings