Solid Waste Director:
David Rhodes

Deputy Director Administration:
Cindy G. Livingston

Deputy Director of Operations: 
Jeffrey Hertik

DSW Office:
Monday - Friday:
7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

DSW Landfill Scale:
Monday - Friday:
7:15 AM - 3:00 PM
7:15 AM - 11:30 AM

847 Mud Road
Johnstown, NY 12095

Main Office:
(518) 736-5501 

Recycling Info:
(518) 736-5504

(518) 762-2859

Starting Jan. 1, 2021:  All electronics must be taken to the Department of Solid Waste for recycling. There is no charge to drop off computers, monitors and televisions.  They will no longer be accepted at transfer stations.

During COVID-19 restrictions, the Fulton County Department of Solid Waste has announced that the Landfill and Transfer Station on Mud Road, and all county transfer stations, will be open for regular hours. 

Regular curbside recycling pick up schedules will also remain in effect. Please put your singlestream bins out the night before pick up, or by 6:30 a.m. the day of pick up. 

Electronics Drop Off 2021

The Fulton County Sanitary Landfill is located in the Town of Johnstown, and is situated on 675 acres of land, with 40.5 acres of active landfill. 

A total of 105 acres is available for actual landfill. 

All residents of Fulton County have to address recycling - either through the County's curbside recycling pick up, or transfer station drop off (with a permit). Each of the eight stations also accepts electronics, textiles, used motor oil, and vehicle batteries.

County residents can also drop off properly prepared recycling at the Department of Solid Waste Transfer Station on Mud Road without a permit (for recycling only), items that can only be disposed of at the DSW Transfer Station Include: tires (a disposal fee applies), Freon units, thermostats, cell phones and fluorescent bulbs (along with textiles, used motor oil, and vehicle batteries.