New York State Child Support Information Line
1 (800) 846-0773
The Child Support Unit provides custodial parents with assistance in obtaining financial support and medical insurance coverage for their children. This is done by locating parents, establishing paternity, establishing support orders including medical support, collecting support payments and enforcing court orders when child support is not paid.
Every child is entitled to financial and emotional support from both parents. This is true even if the child’s parents do not live together and were never married. If you are the parent of a child, New York State laws says you are responsible for the financial support of that child until the child is 21, even if you have never lived with the child or do not live with the child now. This support should start the day your child is born.
Once you apply for child support services, the services that are provided by the Child Support program may cost you a nominal fee of $25.00 year or may be free depending on your financial circumstances. These services are available whether the absent parent lives in or outside of New York State.
Once child support payment amounts are established, to check on payment amounts, payment dates or the dates child support checks were mailed, please call the New York State Child Support Information Line at 1-800-846-0773.
This line is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
You will need your Social Security Number and Personal Identification Number (PIN) to access information. If you do not have a PIN, please call the Customer Service Helpline at 1-888-208-4485 to request one.